We use cookies on this website. To find out more about cookies and how they are used on this website, see our Privacy Policy.
By clicking ‘Continue’, you hereby agree with our use of cookies.

Knowledge Base

Why Are User Permissions Not Applied on a WORM Volume Despite the GUI Indicating Success?

Last modified date: Thu, 24 Oct 2024 15:58:58 GMT+8

Problem Description:

Unable to set user permissions on a share folder within a WORM volume.

Diagnosis:

Since WORM (Write-Once, Read-Many) is a technology that restricts changes after data is written, if the share folder you created exceeds the automatic file locking time, it will become read-only. Consequently, user permissions on the folder cannot be modified.
user permissions on the folder cannot be modified

Solution:

If you no longer need the data in the volume, navigate to Settings > Storage > Volume > More > Delete Volume to delete the volume. If the data is still required, create a new WORM volume using the remaining space in the pool, then move the data to this new volume. Once the data is safely transferred, you can delete the original volume.

Was this article helpful?Yes | No

Thank you for your feedback!

Do you have any other feedback for this article?

{{ vm.showErrorMessage }}